Home | Subscribe | Cannon Falls Lifestyles | Contact Us | E-Edition
Cannon Falls Beacon | Cannon Falls, Minnesota 55009

cannon realty

home : sports : sports May 24, 2016

11/21/2013 10:39:00 AM
Record-setting year for football Bombers

by Mike Dalton

The 2013 CFHS football campaign was one of ups-and-downs, one that again ended up one game short of the state tournament.

"The hard times early in the season prepared us for the playoff run we were able to put together," coach Josh Hofstedt said. "We are very proud of the boys and the way they never lost hope; they continued to play hard no matter the situation.

"We were blessed to have had the chance to work with a great group of seniors," Hofstedt continued. "Next year we are excited to see the juniors coming up for their time to lead."

It was also a record-setting year for many individuals. Jordan Lundell set records with 11 touchdown receptions in one season, 18 TD receptions in a career, and three interceptions in one game. Quarterback Hunter Johnson had record completion rates for both a single game and a career, 83.35% in a game against Kenyon, and 54.12% for his career. Alex Bultena had 11 receptions in one game, Nate Melhouse had seven sacks in one season, and Clay Broze had 11 sacks in his career. All were school records.

Johnson was named most valuable player. He completed 151 of 275 passes for 2,147 yards and 20 touchdowns, with a long pass of 65 yards. He also led the team in rushing with 833 yards on 172 carries, with nine touchdowns. Ryan Castillo had 226 yards rushing.

Lundell led with 49 catches for 859 yards and 11 TDs. Bultena caught 48 passes for 442 yards and three scores, and Brock Peterson had 39 catches for 745 yards and three touchdowns.

Sterling Carlson, the team's only all-conference pick, led the defense with 102 tackles, and he had four sacks. Nate Melhouse had 86 tackles and seven sacks, Taylor Carlson had 61 tackles, Broze 51 with six sacks, Austin Noble 48 tackles, Jordan Lundell 46 with six interceptions, Johnson 45 and Castillo 44.

Bailey Mills, Jake Langevin and Tyler Melhouse were named honorable mention all-conference, and Noble, Johnson, Lundell, Broze, Carlson, Bultena and Peterson were named all-section.

Johnson was named the team's most valuable player. Other awards were Bailey Mills, Bomber award; Peterson, most improved; Noble, lineman of the year; Lundell, offensive player of the year; Nate Melhouse, defensive player of the year; and special teams players of the year, Derek Johnson and Kyler Banks.

Seniors were Mills, Johnson, Stephen Moline, Peterson, Lundell, Bultena, Derek Johnson, Sterling Carlson, Taylor Carlson, Broze, Noble, Tyler Melhouse and Langevin; all were letterwinners.

Other letterwinners were juniors Nick Lorentz, Garrett Beach, Quinton Lindow, Jacob Reinhardt, Jack Holscher, Logan Rechtzigel, Nate Melhouse and Matt Delk; sophomores Mason Beissel, Gabe Hall, Tanner Carlson, Ryan Schroeder, Wyatt Johnson, Jason Traynor, Ryan Epps, Brandon Hernke, Quin Stevens, Carter Reber, Kyler Banks and Zach Siebenaler; and freshmen Cam Meyers, Mason Hofstedt, Gavin Gates, Andrew Egge, Carlton Lindow, Nate Lundell, Elliot Boman, Max Bowen, Zeb Detweiler, Bailey Otto, Connor Flaten, Jake Christenson, Bracken Smith and Cameron Quade.

Advanced Search

Classified Ads

Home | Subscribe | Cannon Falls Lifestyles | Contact Us

Cannon Falls Beacon • Box 366 • Cannon Falls, Minnesota 55009
(507) 263-3991 or (800) 263-3991

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved